Sports movies are pretty cliche and predictable. Regardless, I love a good sports movie. Almost all of them have a moment where the person or team faces a huge obstacle preventing them from their goal. In Rocky III, Mick dies and Rocky doesn't know if he can fight anymore. In The Natural, Roy Hobbs dates a blond woman...which everyone knows throws off a baseball player's swing and puts them him in a huge slump. In Remember the Titans, white people hate black people and black people hate white people....and then a guy gets paralyzed!! The examples could be endless. Why do I bring this up? Because if a movie would be made about my attempt to run a half-marathon, we would be at the section where it would look like i wasn't going to make it. This is the moment when it seems all hope is lost and the person or team is destined to fail. Not so interestingly, the challenges that have got me to this point are relatively mild. They include: my feet hurting due to the wrong running shoes, a severe sinus infection, a trip to Atlantic City, and pure laziness. I'm sure when the movie of my adventure in running is made, the director can come up with a more inspiring reason for my downturn (perhaps my sinus infection can be embellished into pneumonia).
So, I hadn't run for a month. I knew that I was slacking. I knew that I just needed to get back on the treadmill and start running. I was waiting for the inspirational speech that is the best part of sports movies! This is when a friend, family member, coach, etc. gives some inspirational speech to get the person motivated again. I would like to say that someone inspired me to get on the treadmill and that it looked like this:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cz6oxIlmw_M
But that's not what happened. The truth is that my wife asking me when I was going to start running again a few times made me feel guilty. She did it perfectly. We were just sitting on the couch (I may or may not have just eaten a cheese steak and been looking especially out of shape) and she randomly said "When are you going to start running again?" So, it wasn't like Rocky and Adrian on the beach...but it was just what I needed. I got on the treadmill yesterday and I'm happy to report that I ran with no pain. I didn't run much. But I'm going to try to build up to the 13.1 miles slowly this time. I can hear Eye of the Tiger playing in the background already!!
So, I made you read through this entire post to learn that I am going to be having a baby girl! The doctor already says that she looks like a genius! The tricky part is coming up with a name...so, if you have any suggestions comment, email, call, or text me. I need ideas!!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
