It's time for another recap of all the things I've learned and general observations since the madness of training for a half marathon/quitting smoking began.
- Running is still boring and it is still amazing to me what my mind will think about while on the treadmill (although if you've read my blog, you probably have a good idea of the stupid stuff i sometimes ponder) I've started listening to more music on the treadmill rather than watch tv. I could definitely use some good music suggestions so feel free to comment, email, call, text, etc. with any good stuff for me to download
-The confident part of my brain wants me to consider what my pose will be when I cross the finish line. Will I put my arms up in victory? Should I try and play it cool like it's not my first half-marathon?
-The not so confident part of my brain (also known as the normal part) wonders how much knee replacements cost and why the hell I thought this would be a good idea
-It is really hard to get motivated to run after a really long day. Although, I didn't really learn this...because I already knew it was going to be hard to get motivated even on a great day!
-Getting ready for this half-marathon is one of the few things that has worked to keep me from starting smoking again. The sad truth is that if it weren't for this training, I would have started smoking again months ago!
-I really need to make sure to warm up before I start my runs. When I warm up runs go better, when I don't I feel like crap. Simple as that!
-I am definitely too self-conscious about running outside and people seeing me look like a dumbass...but I'll have to get over that soon.
-I've learned that blogging is alot of fun for me (and hopefully entertaining for anyone reading it) and that I enjoy trying to figure out how to get new readers. Also, I obsess over who could be reading my blog from other countries.
-I've known, but have been reminded, that I have an amazing group of family and friends that I extremely supportive
-I am now running about 4 miles without dying...I still need to get to 13.1 and I'm still nervous that I won't make it
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment