I am so happy that it is starting to feel like spring. Baseball has started (go Phils!), you can see grass instead of snow, and the days are starting to get longer. My back couldn't take much more shoveling of snow. Unfortunately, the warmer weather means that I have no excuse for running inside on my treadmill. Which leads me to my fear that I am going to look like an idiot when I'm running. It is hard enough for me to avoid looking like a dumbass on a normal day! How am I going to avoid it as I try to run a few miles?? The way I see it, there are several factors involved.
1. Clothing - The right or wrong clothing can make or break my looking like an idiot. I just recently got some Nike gear (thanks Jeannette!) that I think will help. But, I've seen runners wearing those tight shirts and shorts that make their nipples/private parts pop out. Anything that has any body part of mine protruding out, I desperately need to avoid! Also included in this category are the people that run with no shirts. I've had the unfortunately pleasure to see some pretty hairy guys running around. Not a good look!
2. Sweat - It is hard to look cool when you are running and sweat is pouring off of you. Also, giant sweat marks on your shirt (that i will definitely have!) don't help in the cool department.
3. Looking tired/Getting sick/Having to stop - I'm lumping these together and they are all strong possibilities for me. When I see people running around town, they never look tired! Most of them are trucking along with their earbud headphones looking pretty cool (As a side note, is there something wrong with my ears that I can not get those earbud headphones to stay in? I've seen the Itunes commercials with the people dancing around with the earbuds in...how the hell do they do that?!? If I take one step or breath the earbud pops out of my ear. And then, when I get the one earbud back in, the one in the other ear pops out! Very frustrating.) I will definitely look tired, may get sick, and may have to stop and walk at certain points in my run. I don't think there is anyway around these issues, although, I do think that I can stop and pretend to be checking my pulse like some people do if I need a break.
If anyone has any suggestions on these issues, let me know. I may start my "outside" running in the next few weeks. So, cross your fingers that I don't get too embarassed and give up on the half-marathon!
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

2 comments:
Ridiculous clothes? Shirt off? Sweaty? Looking tired? Throwing up? No one will notice if you do what I do: Run at night.
As for the earbuds, I had that problem when I used to run on the treadmill at the Y and I was trying to listen to the TV. There will probably be someone selling fancy runner specific ear buds at the expo before your half marathon. But I wouldn’t bother. You’re going to be a father soon, you need to have your ears unfettered for safety and your droid running InstaMapper so Liz can track you.
Mike, i have to stop every two minutes when i run. (at least it seems that frequent) I try to stop near a bench or some other kind of "equipment" so i can streeeetchhhh. It makes me look way cooler that way. I'm sure of it. Cool calm and un-sweaty. Positive. Lots of people stop to tell me I look very cool. That's what you should do.
Alternately, find out where the old people gather to do their bocce ball and walking groups and run around them. You'll feel great about yourself, and they'll whisper about how fast you are. It works for me!
Post a Comment