I have always been a pessimist. A worst-case scenario type of guy. I could always relate to Charlie Brown when Lucy would pull the football away just as he was about to kick it. I feel a special connection to Job from the Bible (who I've heard was also training to run a half-marathon back in his day). Some of the events of my life don't help me with this way of thinking. Being surrounded by police cars and accused of robbing a bank and being punched then robbed while working as a cashier are the sort of things that lead you to always be prepared for the worst-case scenario. I'm bringing this up because I need to be more positive. I noticed this especially after my last post. It was filled with complaints! So, here is a brief list of positive things about my training thus far.
1. I ran 5 miles today! Actually, it was 5.5 but the first .5 I walked to get warmed up. I did the 5.5 miles in 68:21. Pretty sure that's a slow time, but I'm happy with it for now. Several months ago, as I was sucking down a pack and half of Camel lights a day, who would have pictured me running 5 miles??
2. I have lost 5 pounds and my wife told me that i have the beginnings of a two-pack. I'm pretty sure I'll never have a six pack...but I'm a modest guy, I'll take a two pack!
3. I still have not had a cigarette. That's also very impressive, seeing that I love to smoke! Yes, I still miss it, but we are remaining positive. No smoke has entered my lungs in quite a while!
That's all the positivity I've got for right now...but I'll be working on being less Job/Charlie Brown/ Debbie Downerish over the course of my training.
One last topic before I wrap up. I've heard that swimmers shave their whole bodies. I wonder if runners do the same thing. Would there be some kind of benefit? I guess if you were really hairy, shaving might make you lighter and able to run faster. As I've tried to research information about running at websites like Runner's World, I don't recall them showing pictures of really hairy guys jogging. I'm not quite sure that I'm prepared to shave or wax if it's a runner thing. Although, one part of my brain tells me that would make a really interesting blog post! So, if someone knows if runners shave their whole bodies...let me know why they would do such a thing (to be honest, I'm kind of scared that there is some very logical reason which would force me to consider doing it).
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

2 comments:
The main reason that runners, especially professional runners, shave their legs is not for speed. It more for massage as having a massage after running helps to ease out the stretched muscles and massage on a hairless leg is more effective. In addition, long distance runners shave their legs if they fall down, the healing process will be fasters as hairless legs are easier to clean and bandage.
So, if you are planning to shave your legs to help you run faster, think again. This may not be the answer that you are looking for. Maybe speed training is something you should pay more attention to rather than looking for an easy way out. However, if you want to feel good and draw compliments to your smooth legs, shaving may be right for you but be warned, it will not help you run faster.
And so your running name shall be "Tupac."
I don't even shave my face before (during) or after a big event. It's my own sort of play off beard. When I was a semiserious biker, I didn't shave my legs, but I teased the guys who did (not for having ladylike legs, but for failing to recognize that they were not picked up by any of this year's Tour de France teams). Kelly's point about falling is true, but my plan is to not fall. Of course, I've never fallen while running a lap around the cul de sac with my brother (who also fell), so you may want to consider it.
Post a Comment