So, my first run was a little over a month ago. Here are a few things I've learned so far.
1. Running is boring! This is especially true when running on a treadmill. It's no wonder all those gyms have televisions in front of the treadmills. Truly amazing what your brain starts to think when there is nothing to do but run.
2. When my body hurts from running, I really start to understand that I'm getting old. I try to do one long run every Sunday. It has led to some sore Mondays! Aside from the gray hairs that I've started to discover, nothing is making me feel older than limping around for a day after a long run.
3. When someone tells you that excercising makes you feel like you have more energy, don't listen...they are lying!
4. Getting the proper equipment is important. I always used to laugh at joggers and runners in their outfits(most of which look ugly/ridiculous in my mind...somebody show me some cool looking running stuff. I haven't found it yet). It didn't take me long to understand how important those clothes can be. I'll have to expand upon this in a future blog because it's too embarassing/funny not to write about, but needless to say, I will have to get some of the appropriate equipment! (I've also learned that companies can make any hobby expensive. The shoes/clothes/equipment you need to run gets expensive!)
5. Running has helped me lose weight. I've lost about 3-4lbs so far. Doesn't seem like that much but when you consider that I haven't changed anything about the way I eat, then it is kind of amazing. Especially when you understand that I do not eat very healty at all. (As a side note, can we all agree that Chick-fil-A is the best fast food restaurant? The chicken nuggets/waffle fries are the best thing around. Just the right ratio of chicken and grease). Anything that allows me to eat unhealthy and still lose weight, I have to continue.
6. Finally, I've learned that it may take a miracle for me to be ready to run 13.1 miles. But I won't stop trying. I'm impressed with the fact that at this point, I can jog a little over 2 miles without getting completely winded. That's pretty good for someone whose lungs are still recovering from years of smoking! But 2 miles is a long way from 13.1.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

5 comments:
Equipment is important for the longevity of many thing, you running 13.1 miles and also for future cousins.
What you might learn after two months of running...that "runner's high" that everybody talks about...is bullshit. Ran 2 marathons and never got once got a runner's high! And if I have to run more than 26.2 miles to get it...I don't want it!!!
Chick Fil'A IS the best fast food ever, I agree. It is the only thing that makes me want to go into the Lehigh Valley mall. Fortunately they changed their location to be right by a main entrance so I can be in and out. Nothing beats that fried chicken breast sandwich.
Maybe your sister in law Jeannette can get you some good running stuff at a great price...she does work in apparel. The trick to running is to run past the 3 times you want to quit. As soon as you start, like a minute in, you want to stop, run through it. It happens again about 10 mins in, run through it. If you make it the 30 mins...it happens one last time, if you run through that I swear you can get to 13!!! Patience is everything and your blog is pretty funny. Switch your fries for a bake potato and you'll lose more a lot quiker!
Just be glad you took up running and not, say, riding horses or racing cars, or even bicycling. Hal Higdon says that the number one reason people run marathons is because they like to eat. If you're shooting for 13.1 then you should love to eat about half as much.
Erika is kind of right. The runner's high does exist, but Four Loko it ain't. It is usually that subtle feeling that you're not going to die that comes shortly after warming up. That feeling goes away by mile 19, but since you're doing 13.1, you should be fine.
Post a Comment